Higher and Higher

High altitude traveling

Joe's Travel Memories

Awaking before first light I cook breakfast under the stars, pack away my tent, brushing the ice from the nylon with my cold hands, then start walking in the dim light of dawn. The path beneath my feet is frozen solid as I walk in the shadow of a mighty Andean skyline in the Cordillera Blanca of Peru.

“Punta Union – 4750m” reads the sign as I take in the panorama of countless snowy peaks at the top of the pass. The high ridge of Talliraju which, at the start of the trek two days ago seemed so far away, now towers over me like a row of gigantic jagged teeth. I follow a narrow path through the rocky ridge to an immense vista of the valley below and the mountain range tapering off into the distance. The long march down stretches out in front of me.

Leaving the beautiful…

View original post 338 more words

Leave a Reply

