Transient Flip-Floppery – A short tale of appropriate footwear

Latest blog on Joe’s Travel Memories…

Joe's Travel Memories

My recent trip back to Thailand for First Choice jogged my memory way back, to my first week on the island of Koh Chang…

IMG_9740

Where the hell have my flip-flops gone? I wonder as I look across the ocean of footwear they’ve sunk into. It seems I’m not the only person at the bar tonight that’s bought a cheap pair in Bangkok. At least another fifty people here have had the same idea, and all these flip-flops look vaguely similar. Oh dear. In many places in Thailand it’s customary to leave your footwear at the door, so when I arrived at the beach bar that’s exactly what I did. Only that was earlier, when it was empty. Now it’s full.

After trying a few pairs that look like mine, only to find myself in the uncomfortable and unpleasant shape of someone else’s feet, I give up, and walk barefoot through…

View original post 374 more words

Leave a Reply

